Food Allergies

Food Allergies

Note for Food-Allergic Individuals:

Please note that we handle and prepare egg, milk, wheat, shellfish, fish, soy, peanut, tree nut and other potential allergens in our cafes and kitchens. Please inform your server if you have a food allergy and direct questions to a supervisor.

Campus Dining is committed to serving all diners; therefore, we work to provide information and assistance to students with food allergies. We have developed numerous online resources for students to help navigate the choices at the dining concepts. Students with these concerns are encouraged to consult a staff member wearing a purple allergen resource lanyard, which means they are knowledgeable about the menu being served that day. These designated staff members are happy to assist. 

Diners can do their part by always doing the following:

  • Informing a server of their allergy;
  • Ask about recipes and ingredients;
  • Read food labels;
  • When in doubt, avoid the food in question.

If you have questions, we encourage you to contact us to schedule an appointment with one of our on-staff experts, either our Executive Chef or Registered Dietitian. If, after reviewing our online resources and consulting with our RD you have additional questions or concerns, we encourage you to contact the Office of Disability Services.

Common Allergens

  • Lactose: Lactose can be found in a variety of foods including milk, cheeses, yogurt, ice cream, and any dairy products.
  • Eggs: Eggs can be found in a variety of foods including baked goods, mayonnaise, noodles, custards and more.
  • Peanuts: Peanuts can be found in a variety of foods including peanut butter and baked goods
  • Tree Nuts: Tree nuts include or can be found in a variety of foods including: cashews, almonds, pecans, walnuts, pistachios, macadamia nuts, Brazil nuts, coconut, marzipan, nut oils and more.
  • Fish: Fish can be found in a variety of foods including: salad dressings, Worcestershire sauce, bouillabaisse, imitation fish or shellfish, barbecue sauce.
  • Shellfish: Shellfish include: clams, squid, mussels, shrimp, scallops, oysters, lobster, crab and more.
  • Soy: Soy can be found in a variety of foods including baked goods, canned tuna, cereals, crackers,sauces, soups and more.
  • Wheat/Gluten: Wheat/gluten can be found in a variety of foods including bread, cereals, baked goods, sauces, spice mixes, soups and more.

Dietary Restriction Labeling on Menus

Our menus, both online and in-unit, are labeled for the following dietary restrictions: 

(V+) Vegan - Does not contain animal products including meat and dairy 

(V) Vegetarian - Does not contain meat

(GF) Gluten Friendly - We do not have a certified gluten-free kitchen, so this is a close as we can get it. Students with a gluten allergy or intolerance should always let their server know about their restriction so extra precautions can be taken to limit cross-contamination as best as possible. 

(N) Contains Nuts - We do not use peanuts in our kitchens, but will occasionally use other nuts and mark those dishes with this designation. 

Campus Dining makes every attempt to identify ingredients that may cause allergic reactions for those with food allergies. Every effort is made to instruct our food production staff on the severity of food allergies. There is always a risk of contamination. There is also a possibility that manufacturers of the commercial foods we use could change the formulation or substitute at any time, without notice. Customers concerned with food allergies need to be aware of this risk. We cannot guarantee the absence of cross-contamination. All foods in the dining hall are prepared in an institutional cooking environment that could involve accidental contamination with the foods you may be allergic to. To that end, always carry your Epipen.